Karen

General English,Interview English,English Literature Central/Sheung Wan

Self Introducion

Hi, I am Ms. Karen. I am a passionate, patient and caring educator with 10 years of teaching and childminding experience in Canada and Hong Kong. I have taught IBPYP and familiar with the local curriculum, as well, a specialty in English, Maths and special education. Further, I have taught English to both children (ages 4-13) and adults, focusing from phonology and reading comprehension to creative writingand Business English. Below, you will find a general scope of what I send to my clientele. 


Please do take a look at my CV. I am open to both walk up or drop-off to my location.

Looking forward to hearing from you 


Cheers,

Ms. Karen


PRIVATE ENGLISH TUTOR / CLASSROOM TEACHER

Experience

  • 2 years IB PYP Homeroom Teacher (Maths, Literacy, Social Studies & Sciences)
  • 6 years English Teaching to children (4-13) & adults (21-60) in classrooms & private tutoring
  • 3 years 1:1 teaching in Special Needs (In Canada and in HK with ESF/JCSRS)
  • Experienced in Primary IBPYP, local HK BCA/TSA & American Common Core Maths & Language Curriculums

Background

  • Canadian Chinese, raised in Canada since the age of 4
  • Teaching & Childminding in Canada for 6 years, HK 4 years
  • fluent in English (Native), proficient in Cantonese & PuTong Hua

Services to be considered

  • Learning & teaching in K1-10 Literacy & K1-6 Maths mainly in English, with support of Cantonese or Mandarin if only preferred by client
  • Guided Reading (Level assessment, phonology & comprehension strategies, cognitive connections)
  • Process & Creative Writing (Grammar, text types, vocabulary study, figurative language use)
  • Speech Festival Preparations
  • Special Educational 1:1 Learning Support 

Qualifications

  • PGCE (University of Sunderland) 
  • Teacher registered with qualified status
  • TESOL/TEFL Certificate
  • B.A. (Sociology) from (University of British Columbia)

references available upon request

Tutor Information

  • Tutor ID:#6050
  • Name:Karen
  • Rating:
  • Nationality: Canadian
  • Gender: Female
  • Age:26-30 years
  • Rates:$600-$650
  • Job Type:Part time job only
  • Specialize: No preference
  • Location: Central/Sheung Wan